The Last “Hurrah”. Pt1

So, yet again it has been a while since I last sat down and wrote down my thoughts, but with a warm and quiet flat to myself, it seems tonight is the night.

There is actually quite a lot going on in the background, although there is not any actual news. The Duchess is 200 miles away from ticking over 130,000 miles on the clock and she is definitely starting to show her age. With this in mind, I am starting to think seriously about what to do. The short-term is a bit of an odd one, but hear me out!

I am buying a van. Yep, you read that correctly, a VAN. The company I currently work for has a few lying about and after borrowing one or two in the past, I can confirm they are actually quite good fun to drive and nearly two and a half times more economical that the S class (no surprise there, though). So with that in mind, and the obvious other benefits including insurance at a fraction of the cost and the ability to load my mountain bike and dog in the back, I called my boss and asked if I could buy one off him. I’ll be parting with a stupidly small amount of cash for one next week, providing my actual job doesn’t get too much in the way.

This may seem like a bit of a strange transition – long wheel based luxury to Ginsters Pie wrappers in the windscreen, but it’s all in the name of saving money. I am looking to buy a house this year and I also have a few trips planned. It is definitely not bad news though, in fact the complete opposite. By taking the Mercedes off the road in May it will save me crazy amounts on road tax and it will also let me get her all serviced and prepared for her final jaunt with me in June… The 2016 Le Mans 24 hours.

One thought on “The Last “Hurrah”. Pt1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

